1. If the 'create plans' role right is checked, the message in the dataflow editor should change to say “you do not have permission to view the Data flow Editor” and not “ you do not have permission to view the plan”, as the user can have a whole bin of plans that have been published to him and he can execute these plans and view the results. Another option would be to change it to "you do not have permissions to view the plan contents"
2. If the 'create plans' role right is NOT checked, the dataflow editor should be hidden totally and should not even display, the results pane should be the main focus.
By addressing point #2 we would address #1 indirectly since the message won't be displayed anymore.
3. If the “view data flow editor” role right is NOT checked, the dataflow editor should NOT be visible to these users even if the 'create plans' role right is checked. Otherwise, the Admin setting should change to say “ No access to Toolbin” as this is essentially what happens.
Furthermore, since there are different types of Sagent users, i.e. End-Users and Developers, and both End Users and Developers can create Plans but they do it in different ways. Perhaps there should be 2 different settings to distinguish slight difference.
The End User creates a Plan by
1) pulling in Parts from the Metaview onto a grid/ report/ excel or Analysis (in the DISPLAY area, not into the DF editor). They should NOT and do not need to see the Data Flow editor (unless of course they are an Advanced User with role-rights to DF Editor)
2) copy an existing Plan that is published to them and add Part, or make modifications to Filters, Heading etc. Only front-end stuff – nothing to do with the DF editor
The developer also “creates a Plan” in the same way as above and also by using Transforms from the Tools Bin to build a data flow in the Editor. The developer can see the Data Flow editor (by pulling down the handle to reveal the Editor)
If a Plan has a display sink the focus should ALWAYS be on the Display sink. Depending on the Users role-right they then might be able to pull down the handle to expose the data flow editor. If they do not have sufficient role right to see the Data Flow editor, simply “lock “ the handle rather that showing a message.
Create Plan = Yes, - will allow them to create a plan (No - will allow only execution of existing Plans) - Maybe this role should be “Create Front End Plan”
View DF Editor = N – the handle will be locked they will not see the Data Flow editor at all (or Yes if they are advanced User)
Create Plan = Yes, - will allow Developer to create a plan, same way as end User but because the also have access to DF editor they can create Plans by adding Transforms to DF Editor View DF Editor = Y – the handle will be not be locked. But the focus will be on the Display area, allow the Developer to reveal the Editor by pulling down the handle
Note: ER already discussed with Engineering. Posting ER on behalf of our Partner Alicornio.